Color Me Pretty

12 Aug

What season are you? There is a tried-and-true method for determining the colors that flatter you most, identifying you as a spring, summer, autumn or winter. The quickest way to determine your season (color palette) is to 1/ describe your hair color as light or dark and 2/ further describe your hair as having golden/red highlights or not. Here’s a quick summary:

  • Spring. Blondes with golden/red highlights–Nicole Kidman and Jodie Foster–look sunny in shades like turquoise and watermelon.

Jodie Foster in a Spring Shade

  • Summer. Blondes without golden/red highlights–Gwyneth Paltrow and Reese Witherspoon–look luminous in pastels and other serene colors like rose or periwinkle.

Reese Witherspoon in a Summer Shade

  • Autumn. Brunettes with golden/red highlights–Angelina Jolie and Julia Roberts–look sultry in rich earth tones like russet and moss.

Julia Roberts in Autumn Shades

  • Winter. Brunettes without golden/red highlights–Catherine Zeta Jones and Penelope Cruz–look stunning in red, black/white, and jewel tones.

Catherine Zeta Jones in a Winter Color

6 Responses to “Color Me Pretty”

  1. januarysublime August 12, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

    So true! I’m a brunette with golden highlights and as much as I wish I suited bolder colours, its all about the natural tones xx

    http://januarysublime.com

    • katelucey August 16, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

      Hi JS,

      Thank you for stopping by! I’m an autumn, too : )

      Best,
      Kate

  2. Cecilia August 17, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

    Well, I´ve been told I was an autum person (my hair used to be lighter when I was younger) but what if you change: hair color, taste, interests? Years ago, I used to like wearing blue and black. It “felt” right. Now, I wouldn´t wear blue even if I was paid to do so! I have gone through browns and now I like red and purple. So, what would you say I am?
    Thank you Kate

    • katelucey August 17, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

      You are a Winter, my friend, who looks smashing in black, white, red, and rich colors like *purple*. You’ve got a great sense of what colors work for you!

  3. pattywm August 20, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

    Any suggestions for finding winter colors in summer clothing? It seems like so many summer things are in….summer colors! I love those colors but I don’t look very good in them.

    • katelucey August 21, 2011 at 1:23 am #

      Both white and black (especially together) are really popular for summertime : ) Red is also spicy hot through the dog days…Work it!

Leave a comment